ryangrace11q

Just another WordPress.com site

Craniosacral therapy May 7, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — ryangrace11q @ 10:09 pm

Ryan had craniosacral therapy today.  Craniosacral therapy is a holistic healing practice that uses very light touching to balance the craniosacral system in the body, which includes the bones, nerves, fluids, and connective tissues of the cranium and spinal area.  We elected to start this to try to round out Ryan’s head from her torticollis.  Some people think that it’s a little controversial because it’s an alternative therapy, but I am looking forward to seeing its benefits.

The therapist had her hands on Ryan’s head and back for only a few minutes and could already tell where Ryan needed work.  She told me about the movement of Ryan’s spinal fluid and how her bones and skull were tight.  She wanted to release the pressure in the dural tube and cranial base.  I wish that I had written it all down, but I was so mesmerized by the process that I just wanted to sit and watch.  The therapist barely touched Ryan but I could tell that Ryan was responding.  Her hands were vibrating ever so slightly as she placed them on Ryan’s head.  At two different times, Ryan spit up.  It seemed like it was triggered by something, not just a random spit up, so I asked.  The therapist said that she had felt a release in Ryan’s cranial base.  It’s almost like when you’re getting a massage and the masseuse touches a trigger point.  I know that it sounds hokey, but this woman is a licensed and practicing physical therapist.  She went into craniosacral therapy because she had seen it work for her own daughter who had feeding issues.  Apparently this can help in all sorts of areas such as digestion and sleeping.  She’ll be back again in 3 weeks and I’m excited for Katie to be able to see the process.

Also, during therapy, Ryan got up on her hands and knees twice!  I couldn’t believe it!  I tried to get a picture of it but it didn’t turn out well and I can’t figure out our new camera anyway – so I’ll post one later.

 

2 Responses to “Craniosacral therapy”

  1. Sue Effler Says:

    That is so cool, Liz!! Great news!

  2. michelle Says:

    I think it is wonderful that you are doing this holistic therapy! Keep it up! Many prayers for Ryan and your family.


Leave a Reply

