ryangrace11q

Just another WordPress.com site

Back to life, back to reality July 24, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — ryangrace11q @ 12:09 am

We returned home yesterday from Cleveland and my long-anticipated 20-year high school reunion.  The reunion was everything that I hoped it would be.  I laughed so much this weekend that I was actually sore (yes, I’m that out of shape)!  I shed a few tears as well… but they were “happy tears” as Charlie would call them.  Some were out of sheer joy to see my friends and some were from side-splitting laughter at completely inappropriate comments.  I love that Katie captured these 2 hilarious moments:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Some tears were also because I was so touched by the love that my friends, some of whom I haven’t seen in 20 years, felt for my kids, especially Ryan.  So if I talked to you about Ryan this weekend, I want to say thank you.  Thank you for caring enough to ask.  And thank you for your compassion for our little miracle.

But now we’re home and we’re back to reality.  Ryan finished a 10-day course of antibiotics on Sunday for a sinus infection… which she got even thought she’s been on a prophylactic antibiotic all summer.  Go figure.  So within 24 hours of her last dose, Ryan starts coughing in the middle of night on Sunday and on the way home from Cleveland.  She coughed on and off all night and woke up this morning with a fever.  Of course.  So, I quickly got on the phone for an appointment with the ped this afternoon.  I also called the allergist/immunologist, and we’re set to get Ryan tested for a slew of environmental allergens as well as a panel for immunology on Monday.  We got some allergens tested months ago but Ryan couldn’t really handle giving blood without holding her breath and passing out, so we’ll give it another go and hope for the best.

True to form, Ryan was in great spirits today, even though she must have felt crappy.  The ped decided to put her back on the same antibiotic she just finished – kind of as an experiment.  We’re hoping that if she responds well to it, then we can assume it’s still sinus related.  We’ll know within days… but of course, we’ll need to see what the blood work from allergies/immunology shows as well.  We’re also scheduled to see the ENT for a follow-up for her tubes in 3 weeks and we’ll be asking him lots of questions to try to get to the bottom of all this sickness.  I mean, it’s July and she’s sick.  Can you imagine what it’ll be like when she’s back in daycare full time and it’s 20 degrees out?  I can.  It’ll suck.

In the meantime, Ryan is everywhere!!!  Ryan’s been sporting kneepads lately because her poor little knees are so red.  She’s getting fitted for ankle/foot orthotics on Friday and hopefully she’ll be standing and walking soon.  I really hope so because we’ve had to reinforce our childproofing in the kitchen because she’s right at the level of the lower cabinets and I’ve found her on several occasions pulling out stacks of papers and cookie trays and even licking a bottle of soft scrub.  Can you say “Mother of the year”?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

She’s been having 2 hour therapy sessions this summer, alternating speech/PT and speech/OT.  She loves speech therapy.  She’s not saying anything new yet, but she knows how to throw pretty well!  Speech therapy is all about communication through play and she really loves the play part!

IMG_4246

IMG_4248

IMG_4250

She’s also had a couple PT appointments in our pool.  She LOVES the water!  I’ll try to get a few pictures posted in the next few weeks and I’ll make sure to keep everyone updated on the outcome of the testing.

 

One Response to “Back to life, back to reality”

  1. Amanda Urich Says:

    Liz, it was so good to see you at the reunion. I remember you telling me you post a blog about your kids. I was finally able to read it. I had a mix of tears and smiles. It looks like you and Katie are doing an amazing job handling all the challenges you have faced. I will definitely continue to follow you to see their progress and keep you all in my thoughts!


Leave a Reply

