ryangrace11q

Just another WordPress.com site

Despicable Stuff November 7, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — ryangrace11q @ 3:08 am

Here’s a few pics from Halloween this year.  The girls were minions from Despicable Me.  I thought they looked great.  I made the goggles out of the tops of spice containers and elastic and the hats were foam construction hats from Michaels with black pipe cleaners.

IMG_4457

Charlie waiting patiently to go trick-or-treating

Charlie waiting patiently to go trick-or-treating

I was Gru and Katie was Dr. Nefario.  My costume sucked – my nose didn’t match my head which didn’t match my actual skin.  My jacket, which I bought at Goodwill, smelled like mothballs.   It was fun for the 5 minutes we all walked down the street together… then it started to rain.

IMG_4460

Fortunately, we got to make up for it by trick-or-treating the following night with friends we haven’t seen in forever.  It was a perfect fall night and we enjoyed it so much!  I wish I had a picture.  We continued to celebrate Halloween with a dinner and play date with our usual crew on Saturday and put the kids in their costumes for another photo op.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On Sunday we surprised the girls by driving to Indy to see Disney Live.  It was a Jake and the Neverland Pirates/Sofia the First show.  Charlie LOVED it.  Ryan – not so much.  She was excited for about 5 minutes and then realized that she was being confined in a lap.  She didn’t like that.  Luckily we had an aisle seat and could get up to walk her… a lot.

Watching the show

Watching the show

But, all good weekends must come to an end.  On Tuesday we brought Ryan for her immunity blood work.  Even after using warming pads on both arms and a syringe to suck out as much blood as possible, they still couldn’t get all the blood needed for the tests.  Ryan cried and puked and cried and puked and when we finally got her into the car she crashed immediately.  It was awful.  I’m waiting to hear from the doctor if we absolutely have to bring her back to get the remaining tests done because if not, we’re not letting a needle get near her for a long, long time.

You know in Despicable Me when Gru tells the girls “You will not cry or sneeze or barf or fart”?  Well, my littlest minion did not follow Gru’s rules today when she started puking at school and continued tonight.  And it’s so hard to try to keep Charlie away from her because she’s so concerned and loving but the last thing we need is Charlie puking too.  And we definitely don’t need the moms to get sick, so I have officially started my “post-puke fast” that I practice after the kids get sick in hopes that by not putting anything in my mouth, nothing will be able to exit it.  It’s worth a try, right?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

