ryangrace11q

Just another WordPress.com site

As Long As It’s Healthy April 10, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — ryangrace11q @ 3:58 pm

“Do you want a boy or a girl?”

“I don’t care… as long as it’s healthy!”

Katie and I have been talking about this lately.  How when people are asked this question, that is the answer that usually follows.  And how sometimes hearing that stings.  Sometimes it makes us mad.  And sometimes it doesn’t.  It’s all a part of the grieving process, which I suppose we are still going through.

At first, when Ryan was little, and we were suffering through the diagnosis and still figuring out how to care for a medically fragile child, if we heard this comment we would get so fired up thinking how insensitive it was for someone to say this around us.  Around our “unhealthy” child.  But in hindsight, I don’t blame them.  Hell, how many times did I say this myself?  I remember praying/begging/hoping every day of my pregnancy with Charlie that I would have a healthy baby.  I had suffered an early miscarriage before Charlie and I was not only terrified of losing another baby but terrified of not losing a baby that might have something wrong with it.  When I was pregnant with Ryan and we found out that something might actually be wrong with our baby I remember the feeling of pure dread upon learning that our beautiful baby girl (who looked absolutely perfect on the outside) could have something wrong on the inside that could potentially change the course of our lives forever.

ryan 002

So what happens if your baby isn’t healthy?  What happens when that perfect boy or girl you dreamed about your entire life isn’t what you expected?

The truth?  You mourn.  You mourn the loss of the baby you thought you were supposed to have.  You cry.  You get pissed.  You ask “Why me?”.  And that’s OK.

But you also love that baby.  You love that baby in a way you never knew possible.  You learn about how strong you and your family are.  And how lucky you are for having the baby you were supposed to have all along.

And what do you do when people say “As long as it’s healthy!”?  Well, I guess that depends on the day.  Sometimes I still get pissed.  But usually I don’t.  Because now I know I’m the lucky one.  I get to celebrate the smallest milestones that I would have normally taken for granted.  And I get to spend every day with a miracle who has opened my eyes and my heart to a beauty I didn’t know existed.  Knowing what I know now, I wouldn’t change a thing – good or bad.

IMG_7248

IMG_7036

IMG_4892

IMG_4984

IMG_7346

IMG_5023

IMG_7246

Our spring has been a very busy one so far… filled with mostly good things.  The bad was when Ryan had her tonsils and adenoids out and a 4th set of PE tubes put in.  It was a rough 2 weeks with her in a lot of pain and not eating or drinking much.  And having tonsil breath.  Holy shit.  That’s bad, people.  Real bad.  But she recovered and is happier than we’ve ever seen her and eating more than ever!

IMG_7265

Before surgery… doesn’t know what’s coming 😦

IMG_5087

Weeeee!

Weeeee!

IMG_5093

After surgery… poor baby. With only Tylenol and Advil to help ease the pain, tonsil recovery was harder than spine surgery.

IMG_7283

IMG_7290

She was so ready to leave… so were we!

IMG_7291

IMG_7295

IMG_7298

Once home, sissy made everything better!

March brought lots of fun and lots of Madness!!!!

Ryan's enjoying school so much!

Ryan’s enjoying school so much!

IMG_7282

The girls fell in love with Snapchat!

IMG_7313

IMG_7374

IMG_7365

Ryan learned about piggy back rights and requests them often! She calls it "tight" because we say "Hold on tight!"

Ryan learned about piggy back rides and requests them often! She calls it “tight” because we say “Hold on tight!”

Charlie had a special lunch with Aunt Sarah and Muncle Mike at school to kick off March Madness!

Charlie had a special lunch with Aunt Sarah and Muncle Mike at school to kick off March Madness!

IMG_5123

IMG_7370

Fun at Grandma and Grandpa’s during March Madness weekend

IMG_7369

IMG_7379

Too much fun… can’t hang

We get to watch sissy play basketball too!

We got to watch sissy play basketball too!

IMG_7183

IMG_7471

Ryan attended her first dance! The pre-school prince and princess dance at West was so cute!

IMG_7417

Look at Charlie in the bottom corner! Haha!!!

 

IMG_7438

IMG_7460

IMG_7453

IMG_5283

And of course…. EASTER!!!!!

IMG_5291

IMG_5295

IMG_7487

IMG_7482

IMG_7488

IMG_7503

IMG_5322

IMG_7525

IMG_5325

IMG_7543

Did a little geo-caching in Oxford to finish the day!

IMG_5335

IMG_7537

Hit B&D of course!

IMG_5349

Spring breakin’ in Cincinnati!

IMG_7581

IMG_7604

IMG_5377

Next post….. Baseball season!  Ryan will start playing at the Joe Nuxhall Miracle League next week and we can’t wait!

 

2 Responses to “As Long As It’s Healthy”

  1. Denise Says:

    Thank you for sharing your family with me. I love seeing the love and light in all those hugs and smiles. Praying for many more positive outcomes for your family!


Leave a Reply

